Corcelli New Square

Welcome to the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry at the University of Notre Dame. We explore the atomic and molecular fundamentals of nature in all its detail. Research in the department spans the broad range of chemistry, biochemistry, and their interdisciplinary interfaces. Our priorities are to advance fundamental knowledge through excellence in research and to educate and train the next generation of chemists and biochemists. We foster curiosity, provide strong quantitative foundations, and offer opportunities for studies at the cutting edge. We are strongly committed to diversity in all its forms and strive to create a welcoming environment for all.

The department is closely allied with other departments, centers, and institutes, including the Notre Dame Radiation Laboratory, the Center for Nano Science and Technology, the Center for Sustainable Energy, Advanced Diagnostics and Therapeutics, the Harper Cancer Research Institute, and the Warren Center for Drug Discovery. These links underscore the central importance of chemistry and biochemistry and illustrate the ever-growing importance of collaborative research in addressing society’s grandest challenges.

Although the department office remains in its long term home of Nieuwland Science Hall, the department's footprint has expanded across the campus, again emphasizing the central importance of chemistry and biochemistry. Faculty and their research labs can be found in Stepan Hall of Chemistry, the Harper Cancer Research Institute, and McCourtney Hall of Molecular Sciences and Engineering. Undergraduate teaching laboratories are in Jordan Hall of Science, a world-renowned center of excellence for undergraduate scientific education. 

Please feel welcome to explore our department in all its detail, and do not hesitate to contact us with questions, comments, or to arrange a visit. We are passionate about the chemical and biochemical sciences and are always thrilled to share our excitement.

Steven A. Corcelli
Professor and Department Chair