News » Archives » May 2016

Helquist and Wiest receive US patent for HDAC inhibitors

Author: Gene Stowe

Olaf Wiest and Paul Helquist

Professors of chemistry and biochemistry, Paul Helquist and Olaf Wiest, together with Frederick Maxfield of Cornell University have received a U.S. patent for potential treatments for Niemann-Pick Type C (NPC) disease. Patent No. 9,333,222, “Histone deacetylase inhibitors as therapeutic agents for Niemann-Pick Type C Disease,” covers the full class of histone deacetylase inhibitors for the genetic, fatal lysosomal storage disorder and related diseases.

Read More

Ara Parseghian Medical Research Fund launches at Notre Dame

Author: Marissa Gebhard

Marcia Christy Michael Parseghian

Building on the partnership that the University of Notre Dame formed with the Ara Parseghian Medical Research Foundation in 2010, the University has now established the Ara Parseghian Medical Research Fund and is moving the administrative functions and granting process of the foundation from Tucson, Arizona, to Notre Dame.

Through this partnership, the Parseghian family will continue their fight to find a cure or treatment for Niemann-Pick Type C (NPC) disease and will continue to help fundraise and support researchers around the world.

Read More

Chemistry Faculty Members Receive Undergraduate Teaching and Advising Awards

Author: Rebecca Hicks

Three faculty members from the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry have received awards for exemplary work in undergraduate teaching and advising. Xavier Creary, Charles L. Huisking Professor of Chemistry, and Amanda Hummon, Huisking Foundation Inc. Associate Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry, have received 2016 Rev. Edmund P. Joyce, C.S.C. Awards for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching. Dr. DeeAnne Goodenough-Lashua, has been selected to receive a Dockweiler Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Advising.

Read More

Twelve graduate students receive Outstanding Graduate Student Teaching Award

Author: Gene Stowe

English Seal Gold

Twelve graduate students who are instructors and teaching assistants in the College of Science received the Outstanding Graduate Student Teaching Award from the Kaneb Center for Teaching and Learning. The recipients are Bide Xiong of Applied and Computational Mathematics and Statistics; Jenifer Gifford, Sheri Sanders, Kimbra Turner, and Victoria Zellmer of Biological Sciences; Michael Brennan, Clyde Daly, Ruth Nelson and Emily Shangle of Chemistry and Biochemistry; Edward Burkard and Brian Stoyell-Mulholland of Mathematics; and Bryce Frentz of Physics. 

Read More