2010 Departmental Undergraduate Awards Announced

Author: Alec Hipshear

The Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry undergraduate award winners for 2010 were announced at the College of Science Awards Luncheon on Friday, May 14. Kelly A. Marszalek of Orland Park, Illinois, and Sarah C. Matthys from South Bend received the Merck Index Award. The Outstanding Biochemist award went to Courtney L. Hamilton of Columbus, Ohio, and the Outstanding Biochemistry Research Award was presented to Michael G. Purcell, who is from St. Louis, Missouri. The Outstanding Chemist award winner was Catherine A. Cassou, a Tiburon, California native, and the Outstanding Chemistry Research Award winner was James T. Masters from South Bend. James T. Masters also received the Dr. Norbert Wiech Award, and the William R. Wischerath Outstanding Chemistry Major Award recipient was Catherine A. Cassou. The department wishes to congratulate these exceptional students for their dedication and hard work.