Our Virtual Magazine provides an excellent overview of our program, facilities, and research activities.

Currently, the department consists of:

  • 37 Tenure-track faculty
    • 16 AAAS Fellows
    • 14 NSF CAREER grant awardees
    • 3 Cottrell Scholar awardees
    • 3 Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellows
    • 7 Royal Society of Chemistry Fellows
    • 5 American Chemical Society Fellows
  • 180 Graduates students
  • 40 Postdoctoral fellows
  • 23 Research and professional faculty
  • 10 Concurrent or adjunct faculty

In 2014, researchers in the Department held 115 external research awards providing over $20M in funding. 231 scholarly articles were published. 

The Department occupies two connected buildings, Nieuwland Science Hall and the Stepan Hall of Chemistry and Biochemistry. Departmental researchers also occupy significant space in Harper Hall, Raclin-Carmichael Hall, Stinson-Remick Hall, Fitzpatrick Hall, and the Notre Dame Radiation Laboratory.  Combined, this constitutes approximately 90,000 square feet of faculty research space. In addition, our faculty are integral users of the exceptional core facilities on campus. All undergraduate laboratory instruction is provided in Jordan Hall of Science.  At over 100,000 square feet, it represents one of the largest facilities in the United States dedicated to undergraduate instruction.

For more information on the campus see the interactive map and take a virtual tour.