Ten graduate students awarded CBBI fellowships

Ten graduate students in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry have been awarded CBBI fellowships for 2009-2010.  The fellowships carry an annual stipend of $26,000 plus health insurance and travel support for a research internship.  The CBBI Fellows for 2009-2010 are:

  • Erin Cole (2nd year organic chemistry student, Bradley Smith’s group)
  • Rosanne Frederick (4th year biochemistry student, Jennifer Dubois’s group)
  • Major Gooyit (3rd year organic chemistry student, Shahriar Mobashery’s group)
  • Apryle O’Farrell (3rd year organic chemistry student, Shahriar Mobashery’s group)
  • Julia Philip (3rd year physical chemistry student, Holly Goodson’s group)
  • Kurt Piepenbrink (5th year biochemistry student, Brian Baker’s group)
  • Ian Sander (4th year biochemistry student, Patricia Clark’s group)
  • Yao Shen (4th year organic chemistry student, Olaf Wiest’s grou)
  • Bryan Smith (3rd year biochemistry student, Bradley Smith’s group)
  • Timothy Wencewicz (4th year organic chemistry student, Marvin Miller’s group)

The Chemistry-Biochemistry-Biology Interface (CBBI) Program is an NIH-funded program that provides graduate students with significant cross-training at the interface of chemistry, biochemistry, and biology. More information can be found at cbbi.nd.edu.