Congratulations Chemistry & Biochemistry Award Winners

Author: Rebecca Hicks

The Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry is pleased to congratulate our senior award winners for the 2019-2020 academic year.

The 2020 College of Science Dean’s Research Award recipient is Matthew Wang. This award is given to a senior “who has conducted exceptional research within and across the traditional boundaries of scholarly disciplines and who embraces, facilitates, and fosters an environment of scientific inquiry.” Matthew’s research, conducted in the laboratory of Professor Jessica Brown, focused on the characterization and function of RNA molecules and resulted in co-authorship on three published papers.

Alongside the Dean’s awards, the department also recognizes outstanding graduating seniors who have demonstrated excellence in their academic and research endeavors in chemistry and biochemistry. The following students were selected for these awards.

Outstanding Biochemist Award: Cameron Hunter (Fostoria, OH)

Outstanding Biochemistry Research Award: Robert Gipson (South Bend, IN)

Outstanding Chemist Award: James Drysdale (Saint Albans, MO)

Outstanding Chemistry Research Award: Samantha Barlock (Chester, NJ)

William R. Wischerath Outstanding Major Award: Matthew Wang (Denver, NC)

Chemistry & Biochemistry Leadership Award: Madison Mettey (Maineville, OH) and Clare Cahir (Morris Plains, NJ)

Royal Society of Chemistry Certificate of Excellence: Erica Vossen (Lone Tree, CO)

ACS Division of Organic Chemistry Outstanding Senior: Nicolas Robalin (San Antonio, TX)

ACS Division of Physical Chemistry Outstanding Senior: Rebecca Radomsky (Pendleton, IN)

ACS Division of Inorganic Chemistry Outstanding Senior: Robert Gipson (South Bend, IN)

ACS Division of Analytical Chemistry Outstanding Senior: William Huffman (Tipp City, OH)

Congratulations to these and all of our 2020 graduates.